//
you're reading...
my life, social media

A New Life Path: Social Media + Travel

The past two weeks I have been increasing my input in applying to full-time jobs. I’ve been applying to 2 to 3 each day. I heard back from a startup that I thought was full-time, but is actually a super part-time contract job with the possibility of becoming full-time within 1 to 2 months.

I applied to it, heard back that night, had a video interview the next morning, and got the job. There were a few things that drew me to this job. They were looking for a social media manager and blogger who could also do light PR work. That describes my skills to a T. It’s remote work, which I love, and I am excited about the concept of what this startup is doing, which is creating a global video marketplace in real-time, which can be a great tool for travelers and tourism. I love all things social, and I love travel.

When I interviewed with them, I fell in love even more with the chill energy of the co-founders, as well as what my role could look like with their company, Vidpal. I get to create their social media platform from ground zero, which was what I did to an extent with Curve Magazine’s social media, and loved. I also have the opportunity to become a department head for the company, as well as branch out to do some PR work, investor outreach and in-person networking and speaking. I love how my role can expand in different areas that I enjoy. This is what I love about startups.

For a month or two, I’ll put in 5 to 10 hours a week, and if all goes well, I’ll be salaried within one to two months at 40 hours a week.

Earlier in the week, I was worried about where my career was going. I want to transition from freelance work to a salary, but I still want that digital/freelance environment, which working remotely for a startup gives me.

This startup may not start, but I like how it’s opening different doors for me, and changing my outlook on life and giving me new energy.

I’m excited about how this startup can grow, what it can do & how I can contribute.

What is Vidpal?

vidpal logo

VidPal allows the average traveler to view different destinations in real-time. We’re an online video platform where you can request your own customized videos for anything across the globe or get paid to take videos for someone else. We offer a real time video marketplace connecting users across the globe. If you want directions in a certain language in a certain country, you just ask. If you want a video tour guide for a tourist destination, you send a request. Vidpal puts the world at your fingertips.

If you enjoy travel, Like the Vidpal FB page. Here -> https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vidpal/1407456042882121

If you enjoy social media, Like the Vidpal FB page and watch me take it from 15 likes as of 2/24/15 to more.  You can watch me create their social media platform and grow it from ground zero. I’m excited to put to action an idea to get the FB likes and social media interaction to sky rocket.

Cheers!

Emelina Minero

About emelinaminero

I'm passionate about people, community, self-love and the diversity in the human experience.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “A New Life Path: Social Media + Travel

  1. Congrats hon! 🙂

    Posted by KD M | February 26, 2015, 5:11 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other followers

Twitter

Follow Me on Instagram

Day 25 to 29 Update: Tired, felt down, plus gratitude.
