//
you're reading...
emelina minero writes

Studying/Learning Spanish: Resources

I just took an online quiz on conjugating ar verbs in the present tense. I answered 10 questions and got two wrong, the vosotros conjugations. I put the accent on the i instead of the a, which makes sense if I took the time to pronounce it. It sounds silly to have the i accented.

Spanish studying/learning resources. Here’s a site with a bunch of quizzes you can take conjugating verbs in all of the different tenses. Check it out: http://www.studyspanish.com/verbs/

I’ll continue to add resources to this post as I find useful ones.

Websites:

https://www.duolingo.com – recommended by my friend David. Just checked it out. Love it! You can take a bunch of fun tests and it’s interactive. The tests involve translating, conjugating and listening.

http://www.studyspanish.com/verbs/ – great quizzes and lessons

Language Resource Books:

  • Manual de Gramática, Grammar Reference for Students of Spanish, Third Edition by Eleanor Dozier and Zulma Iguina
  • Curso de Literatura, Español Lengua Extranjera por Rocío Barros Lorenzo, Ana María González Pino y Mar Freire Hermida
  • The Ultimate Spanish Review and Practice, Mastering Verbs and Sentence Building for Confident Communication by Ronni L. Gordon, Ph.D., and David M. Stillman, Ph.D.

Literature:

  • El secreto de la lejía por Luisa Castro – A novel by a wonderful lady whose kids I taught English while studying abroad in Spain.

My Learning Updates:

Day 1:

http://www.studyspanish.com/verbs/ – I took the quizzes for present tense verbs 1) -ar verbs, 2) -er verbs, 3) -ir verbs, 4) regular verbs & 5) Ser & Estar basic quiz until I got 100% on each. I was corrected on where to put the accent on the vosotros conjugations for -ar verbs.

https://www.duolingo.com/ – This site has lessons and tests. I tested out of Basics 1, Phrases, Basics 2, Food, Animals, Plurals, Posses, Clothing, Questions, Verbs Present Tense 1, Colors, Conjunctions and Family.

Reading:

I started reading Curso de Literatura, Español Lengua Extranjera por Rocío Barros Lorenzo, Ana María González Pino y Mar Freire Hermida. Leí el prólogo (página tres) y páginas seis [hasta/a*] ocho. (Can I use either “hasta” or “a” in that sentence?)

Cheers,

– Emelina Minero

About emelinaminero

I'm passionate about people, community, self-love and the diversity in the human experience.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Studying/Learning Spanish: Resources

  1. My favorite Spanish language book is “Madrigals Magic Key to Spanish” by Margarita Madrigal and Andy Warhol. Yes, that famous artist. It’s from the 50’s, but it’s good for conjugating verbs.

    Posted by Impower You | February 4, 2014, 5:10 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers

Twitter

Follow Me on Instagram

I love this song.
