//
you're reading...
emelina minero, emelina minero writes, my life

I Don’t Like Setting Myself Up For Failure

I like using templates and guidelines and modifying them to better fit my needs.

I started the 30 Day Push Up, Squat and Ab Challenge when I was living and working in the city when I didn’t have a lot of time to run.

Most workout challenges I find, or any challenges I find are very intense and are structured in a way that sets up people for failure.

For example, I’m launching the 31-Day Self-Love Writing Challenge with my mom tomorrow. We host it every January via the Love Warrior Community and selflovewarrior.com. There have been years when I didn’t write a self-love post each day during the challenge, and that’s okay. If I write 1 self-love post, that’s 1 self-love post more than I wrote for the month of December. That’s one day more that I’ve committed to consciously focus on loving myself.

With the 30 Day Squat, Push Up and Ab Challenge, I didn’t follow the outlined workouts; I just used the template.

Today I went to get out my calendar sheets, and I realized that I finished day 30 yesterday, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to suddenly stop because a piece of paper tells me I’m done. I started these workouts for my health, and I want to continue them.

According to the pieces of paper, I should have done 250 squats yesterday, 40 pushups, 125 situps, 200 crunches, 65 leg raises and a 120 second plank. I didn’t. Instead, I switched from doing squats to wall sits, and I’m at a minute and 10 seconds. At day 30, I did 17 pushups, 30 situps, 25 crunches, 30 leg raises and a minute plank. Actually, yesterday, I didn’t do any of the exercises. I wasn’t feeling well, and I gave myself a rest day.

Instead of following the instructions from the pieces of paper I printed out from 30dayfitnesschallanges.com, I’m listening to my body.

Now that I’ve finished 30 days, I’m printing out 3 more calendars, one for the 30 Day Squat Challenge, one for the 30 Day Push Up Challenge and one for the 30 Day Ab Challenge, and I’ll continue to use the calendar as a guideline, and I’ll continue to listen to my body.

Any challenges we find inspiring, we don’t have to follow them to a T. Often times challenges are created with unrealistic expectations. All we have to do is alter the expectations, and we can complete any challenge we set for ourselves.

About emelinaminero

I'm passionate about people, community, self-love and the diversity in the human experience.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers

Twitter

Follow Me on Instagram

I love this song.
