//
you're reading...
emelina minero, emelina minero writes, queer, queer identity, T.H.E. Updates

Would This Giveaway Motivate You to Submit a Human Experience Piece?

“I Am The Human Experience: Lauren Maier” was originally published on November 23, 2013 on The Human Experience.

Sad-ducks

In no particular order, I am a woman, a daughter, a student, a feminist, a nerd, a talker, a thinker, a lover, an ex-lover, a friend, an anglophile, a sort-of gamer, a kid at heart, an only child, a Randolph-Macon Woman’s College alumna, a theatre-lover, an ex-theatre tech, a firm believer in the joy of snail mail, a listener, a Neil Gaiman fan, an obsessive reader of graphic novels and webcomics, and a PhD student. And yet, I believe I am nothing. I am the human experience … continue reading on The Human Experience.

The Power in Reading Others’ Stories

It’s powerful to read others’ stories and to catch a glimpse into others’ human experiences. The above piece is a human experience piece submitted by Lauren Maier.

The Human Experience Is Almost Ready

The past two to three months I’ve been slowly, but steadily working on building and launching The Human Experience (T.H.E.), a queer publication I started in July, 2012.

The Power in Sharing Our Stories

An aspect of T.H.E. that I’m excited about is T.H.E. Writing Campaign, where people share their human experience in writing. I really want this campaign to explode, especially when we get closer to officially launching the online publication, and the Indiegogo campaign to promote/raise funds for it.

I’m Thinking of Creating a Film Giveaway

I’m thinking of doing a giveaway to get more people to submit a human experience piece. I’m thinking of giving away seasons 1-5 of Angel, seasons 1-7 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, season 1 of Firefly and the film Serenity, a Joss Whedon package. This could either by one prize or I could split it up into 3 to 4 prizes.

I’m also thinking of giving away seasons 2 and 3 of The L Word, The Real L Word season 2, and lesbian films Bloomington, But I’m a Cheerleader, Loving Annabelle, My Normal, Itty Bitty Titty Committee, The Four-Faced Liar and And The Came Lola, and possibly some queer magazines as well, Curve, The Advocate and Out Magazine. This would also be 1, 2 or 3 prizes.

Would You Participate?

What do you think? Would the above films, etc. be enticing enough to motivate you to submit a human experience piece?

Here are the guidelines on submitting a human experience piece, as well as a link to all of the human experience submissions.

http://thehumanexperienceblog.com/you-are-the-human-experience-tell-your-story/

Leave a comment below if you will submit a human experience piece if I create this giveaway, and share this post around. If I get a lot of comments, I’ll create the giveaway.

– Emelina

About emelinaminero

I'm passionate about people, community, self-love and the diversity in the human experience.

Discussion

One thought on “Would This Giveaway Motivate You to Submit a Human Experience Piece?

  1. If this give away/competition was a thing, it would motivate me enough to at least write an article. I love the Idea of the human experience, but I am extremely shy when it comes to my personal matters. Knowing that there would be other people entering, I would feel slightly less self conscious.

    Posted by James Naraine | December 30, 2013, 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other followers

Twitter

Follow Me on Instagram

Day 25 to 29 Update: Tired, felt down, plus gratitude.
