//
you're reading...
my life

Planning, Life Structure and The Unknown

In about a day I’ll be getting on a plane to London from San Francisco.

It’s 8:52pm on Sunday, and I leave at 12:00pm on Tuesday. I just made myself a caffeine drink with 240 milligrams of caffeine. I’m a little nervous, not about flying or traveling, but about work and making sure that all of my t’s are crossed and i’s are dotted before I leave. I’m also nervous about getting back and possibly needed to dive right into work as soon as I reach home from the airport. Possibly, I’m worrying needlessly.

Tuesday I’ll take off to Canada, my layover stop, then arrive in London at 10:15am. I’ll have most of the day to roam around, then I’ll have an orientation dinner for a queer youth program I’m attending. I’ll be leaving London on the morning of the 17th. I’m pretty excited. It still hasn’t hit me yet that I’ll be in London. I don’t know what to expect and I don’t really have anything planned outside of the queer youth program, and I like that.

I recently decided that I need to take my financial independence more seriously. I turned 25 on August 28th. I graduated from college 2 years and 4 months ago, and have been living at home with my parents for 2 years and one month. I have an ass load of money in student loans that I have to pay el gobierno. I was taking classes at the local junior college to defer my student loans, up until now. I can’t afford to pay my student loans yet, but taking classes became useless. The topics were no longer benefiting me and the time I spent on class work was taking away from time that could be spent on working.

About two weeks ago, right around my birthday, I realized a few things:

  • I have one year on my parent’s insurance. After that I won’t have coverage with them and I’ll officially be an independent.
  • Now that I’m not taking classes anymore, I’ll have to start paying my student loans really really soon.
  • I spend too much time on work that doesn’t pay me or that pays me barely anything.
  • I have work available to me that pays and pays decently, and that should be my priority over non to low paid work.
  • I need to start saying, “No” more.
  • I am worth a lot with my skill set, and I should get paid what I’m worth. I know my shit (social media, editing & writing) and I get results. I’m incredibly good at what I do. I let freelancing clients come my way without putting in effort into getting clients. If I want higher paying clients, I need to put the effort into getting them.
  • I enjoy living at home, but for my own health and sense of well being, it’s time for me to get my own place.
  • I won’t feel like an adult until I am financially independent and have my own place.
  • I have one year to obtain the above goal, one year or less.

My after thoughts: 

Anything I put my mind to, it happens – anything, from the mundane to the farfetched. Going to London for a queer youth leadership program, I didn’t have the money for the plane ticket, and unsolicited, people came to me saying they would support me and help me buy my ticket. July 2nd I decided I wanted to create a queer publication and wrote a blog post about it. That day 3 people contacted me saying they wanted to be involved, and they make up the core team behind our publication, The Human Experience. A little over a year ago I decided I wanted to write for Curve Magazine, a month later I was interning for Curve Magazine, now I freelance for them and am their Social Media Manager. Once I whole heartedly decide on something, no matter how impossible it seems, I make it happen.

What’s my next goal, besides launching my publication and its Kickstarter project?

My next goal is to take my freelance work to the next level, and to search out the clients that I want. Something I’m considering: starting my own business revolving around social media. Editing and writing, that is a more personal skill that I wouldn’t feel comfortable contracting out, but I could contract out social media work. As long as I create the social media plan, someone else can execute it.

I enjoy social media, I’m really good at making things happen with it and I’ve been doing wonders with Curve Magazine and their social media. I have a great portfolio of work and I can get amazing testimonials, and I already have about 12 people who I can interview to be on my team to execute the work. I just have to make the decision if this is what I want to do.

I’m tired of doing freelance work. I’m tired to the extent that I don’t want to be working 7 days a week, always feeling like I’m playing catch up. If I have my own business where I get the work, create the social media campaign that we will execute and have other people do the work, then I’ll have more free time. I could put more of my time into getting The Human Experience off the ground, and just enjoying the people around me.

I still haven’t 100% decided on this, but I feel like I’m going towards that direction.

– Emelina

About emelinaminero

I'm passionate about people, community, self-love and the diversity in the human experience.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Planning, Life Structure and The Unknown

  1. Emelina, what a wonderful post!!!! ^_^ You have always achieved what you said you would achieve. I whole-heartily believe in you! When you get back I want to steal your time so we can talk it out and also to hear about your trip! Maybe it will help you detox and not feel overwhelmed when you get back. I wish you safe travels and tons of fun!

    Posted by claudettecjones | September 12, 2012, 2:37 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers

Twitter

Follow Me on Instagram

I love this song.
