//
you're reading...
open discussion, queer events, queer identity

I’m Creating a Queer Magazine-ish-Community Site

I already have this queer blog, right? I do! But I want to create something larger, and something outside of myself. I want to create something that can turn my passions into my career.

Working Title – The Human Experience: Redefining Queer Culture

What This Magazine-like Site Will Do:

It will Open Dialogue:

In-person video reporting/interviewing on current events in the community/In-person meet-ups:

  • This will be limited to where we have reporters, for example, I live in the Bay Area. Wherever each staff member lives, I really want to show what’s going on in the queer community. Are there community centers, events, groups, clubs, organizations? What resources are in your community? What’s the environment like of each? To really cultivate a strong and supportive queer community for yourself, you have to know what’s going on around you. For those who are timid to go out by yourself, we can interview the creators, workers, volunteers, people who attend the events, etc. and try to show you a glimpse of what it will be like.
  • On community, we will also host events, meet-ups at already existing events in the community, to casual coffee meet-ups.

News/Entertainment:

  • News coverage on the entire queer spectrum, as well as the whole global queer community.
  • On entertainment, a focus on supporting people/artists/advocates who are positively shaping queer media and culture.
  • Unifying the queer community, highlighting other resources and publications. Spotlights, featuring: Curve, The Advocate, etc. Highlighting organizations, websites and resources.

Why This Magazine/Site?

My whole life I’ve been consistently passionate about one thing, strengthening communities. Throughout elementary school, high school and college, I often wondered how my passion for people and community building could develop into a career.

My first year in college, the night before Valentine’s Day, I decorated my dorm hall’s walls, made handmade cards for everybody on my dorm hall and left them by their doors. On a day that many feel discouraged by, I wanted them to have one of their first thoughts be a positive one.

My Sophomore through Senior year in college, I sent Facebook messages to every single incoming first year, welcoming them, introducing myself and asking them if they had any questions. I wanted them to feel comfortable entering into our community.

In my senior year of college, as the Editor-in-Chief of the school newspaper, I made it my priority to make sure that each staff member and contributing writer felt comfortable, felt valued, felt like they were growing and learning something of value and had fun. I didn’t only want to create a fun environment, but a family.

While in school, I often put more importance on my relationships, than my studies, and I was told by a handful of people that I was making a mistake by doing that – that my energy was not properly focused, and I needed to put my time into more realistic endeavors that I could actually turn into a job once I graduated.

I graduated from college two years ago, and my focus hasn’t changed. Community building is still the fire that drives me. A year out of college, I created Community Bucket List, an online community that supports people in living their passions and achieving their goals. I also co-created the Love Warrior Community with my mom (Michelle Minero, a therapist who specializes in helping people recover from eating disorders). The Love Warrior Community helps people to cultivate self-love, self-acceptance and body acceptance through creative expression: writing, videos, photography, music and art.

Last September, I started writing for Curve Magazine, the best-selling lesbian magazine in the U.S. Almost a year later, Curve has helped me to realize my deepest passion: Community building within the queer community.

Becoming more involved in queer media and culture I noticed something else, the bigotry within the queer community.

I’ve finally realized how I could turn my passion for people and community building into a career, through this queer community site/magazine.

Why Am I Most Passionate About the Queer Community?

I knew I was attracted to women when I was 5-years-old. I didn’t come out until I was 18/19-years-old. I felt isolated, I became depressed in middle school, I had horrible anxiety attacks in high school and I grew this fear around sharing my emotions and opening myself up to others. I lead a large part of my life with fear and I didn’t feel safe or comfortable using my voice.

There wasn’t a strong queer community in my hometown. If one existed, I didn’t know about it.

At 19, I went to Randolph-Macon Woman’s College in Virginia. Entering that campus as a perspective student, I instantly felt the strength and energy of their community. It was a matriarchal homonormative environment, and it supported and celebrated every aspect of myself, and it helped me to grow into and love not only my queer identity, but my whole identity. I felt comfortable being exactly who I was there because of the supportive, open and respectful nature of the community.

Community is important, especially as a queer individual. It’s important to have safe spaces that nurture us and that allow us to feel comfortable as ourselves so we can grow into confident individuals and help set a more positive future for the queer individuals who will come after us.

I know the positive impact of a strong and supportive community, and I want to be a part of creating that for others, and to continue creating it for myself.

How Does My Magazinesque Site Differ from Others?

There are already a lot of queer publications and sites, right?

Yes, there are.

Mine differs in that it will focus on breaking down the bigotry within the queer community and bringing the queer community together through open dialogue discussing the diversity of the queer identity and the diversity of issues that we face.

Mine differs in that I will cover news and entertainment, as well as get opinion guest posts that focus on members of the entire queer spectrum, in particular members of the queer community that are underrepresented: ie, pansexuals, trans*individuals, bisexuals, asexuals, etc. I will also cover news globally, to capture what the queer community is like in other countries and to gather global perspectives on queer issues and identity.

Mine differs in that I will have a strong creative focus. The writers, musicians, filmmakers and other creative types or advocates who are living their passions and contributing to our queer media and culture, I want to highlight and support them. I want to amplify their voices. I also want to use them as resources to encourage others to act on their passions by having how-to pieces for people interested in making a web series, a film, publishing a book, getting into freelance writing, getting involved in activism, etc.

Mine differs in that it will have an in-person meet-up aspect. I really want to help cultivate a strong queer community, and in-person connection is important for our emotional well-being and health. It’s important to be a part of a strong in-person queer community.

Through connecting with existing venues, events and organizations, I want to host events to help bring people together. I want to host more casual events too, like coffee meet-ups. I want to expand this, using meet-up.com, so outside of where I, or other writers live, more and more people can meet in safe and comfortable settings around the globe.

Mine Differs In That Its Focus Is On:

  • The human experience and the diversity in our unique stories, in our queer identity and in how we have experienced queer culture.
  • Breaking down the bigotry within the queer community through conversation about our experiences.
  • Community building through supporting and giving voice to individuals and groups.

We’re all human beings, and we’re all connected by the core human experiences/desires: we all have passions, insecurities, desires and fears. We all want to be loved and to feel connected to others. We all want to lead happy lives. We’re different in a lot of ways, as well. No human being is the same as another. I want to celebrate the diversity in our individuality, as well as highlight our common human experiences.

Our Next Steps:

I’m creating this online community, but I’m not going to be doing it by myself. It’s going to be a group initiative, which is why this section is titled, Our Next Steps.

A publication is not made by one person or a group of people, it’s made by a community.

What Are Our Next Steps?

Soon, we’ll be launching a Kickstarter or IndieGoGo campaign to raise start-up funds. Before we launch it, we’ll contact publications, websites, blogs, podcasts, radio shows and newspapers to promote its launch date.

We need writers, photographers, opinion writers and people to do in-person event and community coverage.

We’ll need a new website. I’ll keep this blog as my personal blog for my own exploration into queer culture, but everything else will be published on the magazine website.

I have a list of people I’m going to start connecting with, and I’m going to start planning the pledge rewards and marketing campaign for our crowdfunding campaign.

If You Want To Get Involved, There Are Many Ways You Can Help:

Be an active reader. Until our website/magazine is up, subscribe to this blog.

Share this post. Share it via Twitter, FB, Tumblr, WordPress, email, LinkedIn and everywhere else. 🙂

Become a writer. You can start writing guest posts right now for this blog, and/or you can start writing content for our magazine/site.

Help market our Crowdfunding campaign. Do you have a website? A blog? A podcast? Are you a radio show host? Do you write for a newspaper or magazine? Contact me to write an article about this or to interview me and help promote our crowdfunding launch date.

Your Ideas. Do you have other ideas on how you can help and get involved? Send me an email and let me know. 🙂

How Will This Site Make Money?

This website is going to be a breed between a publication, a forum and an online community – those cost money to make, to maintain and to pay the writers and contributors involved.

After the initial start-up money, this website will sustain itself through:

  • Advertising
  • Merchandise/Affiliate Products
  • Subscription: to access the on-going how-to articles, written interviews, videos, recordings, resources and content relating to the creative community (making a web series, writing a book, self-publishing, directing, making a film, acting, freelance writing, making/performing music, creating your own organization, etc.).

Connect With Me to See What’s Going On:

FacebookTwitter & Email.


About emelinaminero

I'm passionate about people, community, self-love and the diversity in the human experience.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “I’m Creating a Queer Magazine-ish-Community Site

  1. This is amazing Emelina!!!!! Please let me know what I can do to help 🙂 Spreading the word now!

    Posted by claudettecjones | July 3, 2012, 9:12 pm
    • Thank you SO MUCH!!!!! Spreading the word definitely helps! I’ll definitely let you know how you can help. 🙂 I’m organizing stuff in my head before I come up with specific ways people can help. But if along the way you think of ways that you would love to get involved, then you can. 🙂

      Posted by emelinaminero | July 3, 2012, 9:29 pm
  2. Woot! Sounds good to me! What a grand adventure!! <3! Enjoy!

    Posted by Karema Moheisen | July 4, 2012, 12:14 pm
    • Thank You!!!! I am enjoying it, and I’m looking forward to enjoying it even more down the road. It’s really cool. One thing I’ve missed with doing freelance work since I’ve graduated is the lack of working with a team and creating a team environment. I’m really excited about that. 🙂

      Posted by emelinaminero | July 6, 2012, 12:05 am
  3. Reblogged this on Pledge Your Voice and commented:
    See the amazing adventure i’m about to take apart of. Headed by Emelina she is creating “The Human Experience” in hopes to Redefine Queer Culture. Follow my blog along with hers to stay up to date and see the progress that’s coming along!

    Posted by Lauren | July 7, 2012, 2:17 pm
    • Thank you for re-blogging this! 🙂 And everyone, please do follow both this blog & Lauren’s blog, Pledge Your Voice, not only to follow our progress with our queer publication-community, The Human Experience, but to be encouraged to find and use your voice. That’s what Pledge Your Voice is about, encouraging media literacy and encouraging people, especially young women, to find their voices and to make a difference through them. A sample of what you’ll find on Pledge Your Voice, It starts with one voice … (http://pledgeyourvoice.com/2012/07/03/it-starts-with-one-voice/) talks about how one voice turned into thousands through the Keep It Real Challenge, not only through the blogosphere, but through Julia Bluhm and fellow activists at SPARK. They submitted a petition to Seventeen Magazine, and the magazine agreed to not alter body size or face shape in their magazine anymore. That’s huge! Changing our culture starts with us.

      Posted by emelinaminero | July 7, 2012, 5:46 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Join me in the Kickstarter Launch of our Queer Magazine-Community – The Human Experience: Redefining Queer Culture « Emelina Minero Writes - July 6, 2012

  2. Pingback: The Human Experience History Timeline: Up to August 9th, 2012 « Emelina Minero Writes - August 10, 2012

  3. Pingback: The Human Experience History Timeline: Up to August 9th, 2012 | The Human Experience Blog - August 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 638 other followers

Twitter

Follow Me on Instagram

Fonso dancing solo highlight with Carrie and Ninel cameos.
