//
you're reading...
my life, queer events, queer identity

My Commitment To Being Authentically Vulnerable

I was editing a blog post, Dream a big Scary Dream!, that my mom wrote for our group blog, Self-Love Warrior, and I absolutely loved it. What she wrote really resonated with me, especially after my experience with the Stonewall Talent Programme and my trip to London (which I’m still in London at the airport, waiting to board to Vancouver, then to San Francisco).

One of the sentences in my mom’s blog post that really resonated with me:

My commitment to being authentically vulnerable helps me move toward self-publishing my book, Self-Love: The Only Diet That Works.

I’m going to rephrase this quote to:

My commitment to being authentically vulnerable helps me move forward …

My commitment to being authentically vulnerable helps me move forward with my goals, my passions, my love for life, my happiness, a fuller and more authentic me. It moves me forward to a life lived more openly, more honestly, a life more empowered.

Thinking back on Stonewall, there’s probably a thousand and one ways I can deconstruct this sentence. What does it mean to be authentically vulnerable? How do I commit to that? What would I get out of being authentically vulnerable, and if I lived a life of authentic vulnerability, how would that effect those around me?

At Stonewall we discussed authentic leadership, what that means to each of us individually and how our sexual orientation has shaped our abilities as a leader.

Going into Stonewall, I already knew what I wanted from life from a career standpoint, I already felt like a strong leader and grounded in my goals, passions and beliefs, but I always feel like I can improve.

I feel like the more one loves themselves, all of themselves, even the things that may be difficult to love, the more authentic one can be. If I see myself, my mistakes, my accomplishments, the actions I’m proud of and ashamed of, my insecurities and my confidence, if I can see all of that, and love it fully, love myself fully, then I can live a life uninhibited and be more empowered to fully be myself.

If I want to be more confident in anything I do, it starts with loving and accepting myself first. The more I can do that, the more empowered I’ll be to go after what I want in life.

The most important thing that Stonewall showed me was that sometimes I can be authentically vulnerable with great ease, and other times it seems almost impossible to allow myself to be vulnerable around others.

So, my homework assignment to chew on will go back to the above questions I asked:

What does it mean to be authentically vulnerable? How do I commit to that? What would I get out of being authentically vulnerable, and if I lived a life of authentic vulnerability, how would that effect those around me?

And, where do I start? How do I go about being more authentically vulnerable? What’s the first step?

-Emelina MInero

About emelinaminero

I'm passionate about people, community, self-love and the diversity in the human experience.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Know What To Write « Emelina Minero Writes - September 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

Emelina Minero - Find me on Bloggers.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

